top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureErica Hauke

From Mourning to Dancing


"You did it: You turned my deepest pains into joyful dancing; You stripped off my dark clothing and covered me with joyful light. You have restored my honor. My heart is ready to explode, erupt with new songs! It's impossible to keep quiet! Eternal One, my God; my Life-Giver, I will thank You forever." (Psalm 30:11-12).


When I was a little girl, I was part of the prophetic dance team in my church. How I loved to worship God with my very being! Even to this day, I have a deep desire to worship God with all that I am. Even though I am no longer a part of the dance team, I still love to dance before God. I long to dance like King David who was so happy that the Ark of the Covenant and the Spirit of God was returning to Israel, that he danced in the streets in worship to God (2 Samuel 6). My soul longs to dance like that again.

And I know one day soon, I will dance like that again. One day soon God will turn all of my pain into gladness. He will lift me up from the pit of mourning and set my feet to dancing on the road of victory. Not only do I want to be like David dancing in the streets, but I also want to be like Miriam when God parted the Red Sea. God gave Miriam a dance and a song of victory and praise for what he had done to deliver them from Egypt. My soul longs to dance like this again too.


" When pharaoh's horses, chariots, and chariot-drivers drove into the sea, the Eternal caused the waters to collapse upon them. But the Israelites walked through the sea on dry ground. The prophetess, Miriam (Aaron's sister), picked up a tambourine, and all the rest of the women followed her with tambourines and joyful dancing. Miriam: "Sing to the Eternal One, for He has won a great victory; He has thrown the horse and its chariot into the sea." (Exodus 15:19-21)


Do you also feel the longing to worship God with abandon again? Does your heart want to explode into joyful dancing and song like the psalmist's does? Are you ready to embrace the dance of freedom and victory like Miriam? Are you ready to be lifted from your sorrow and grief and pain and trade them for the joy of the Lord?

Are you ready to be lifted from the pit of mourning? It is coming fast my friend. Your deliverance is coming quickly. Your pain is just for a season, and soon that season will be over. For Jesus has come to set the captives free and to give comfort, peace, and joy to those who have experienced deep pain and sorrow. Jesus is the hope and worshiping him and drawing near to his spirit is the only way towards healing.


So I ask again, are you ready?


Dear Lord, Thank you for lifting us from the pit of mourning. Thank you for the comfort that you provide for us in times of grief and sorrow. I know one day soon you will turn my mourning to dancing and my soul cannot wait for that special day. I wait with excited anticipation for the day that I am able to dance once again. Thank you Lord. In Jesus name, Amen.




13 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page