top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureErica Hauke

Not Alone in the Dark



"I am at home. At home with God again. He chose me. He chose me and set me apart. I am not alone in the dark." (Get Out of Your Head, Jennie Allen)


"What we are telling you now is the very message we heard from Him: God is pure light, undimmed by darkness of any kind." (1 John 1:5 Voice Translation)


Today, I finished reading the last chapter of a book called, "Get Out of Your Head", by Jennie Allen. This book talked about how we can take our thoughts captive under the authority of Christ and do battle against those thoughts that the enemy tries to tell us in order to cause chaos in our minds and our spirits. Within the pages of this book, Jennie talks about three lies that Satan tries to tell us. Regardless of whatever lie Satan tries to tell you, it probably goes under one, or more that one of these major categories. Either way, these are typically the lies that we tend to believe when our faith is rocked and shaken to its very core.


I'm helpless.


I'm worthless.


I'm unlovable.


Above is one of the very last quotes at the end of the book that I found to be very powerful. At one time or another, we have all had or will have times when our faith is tested. In Jennie's testimony, she describes how she was attacked by spirits of doubt, fear, and anxiety every night for eighteen months after she spoke at a women's event at a church about how they could be free from the enemies strongholds on their lives and find true freedom in Christ. While she was at that church she had two speaking events during the day, and in between those events she was approached by a woman who was demonically possessed. The woman told Jennie that Jennie needed to stop talking about the enemy's plot to steal, kill, and destroy, and that she needed to stop telling people about the gospel message. Then the demonically possessed woman told Jennie that if she didn't stop spreading the gospel, that those demons would be coming for her. Jennie refused to stop spreading the gospel and spoke at the second event. But every night at 3 a.m., for the next eighteen months, she was spiritually attacked by the spirits of fear, doubt, and anxiety.

Why am I telling you all this? Because I too have been struggling these past few months with feeling like I am alone in the dark with my own fears and anxieties. I have had my own 3 a.m. experiences where my thoughts are being attacked and my mind feels like a chaotic maze that I can't seem to get out of and I feel like my mind is being driven to insanity in my grief. And maybe, just maybe, you are in that same spot right now in your own intense season of your life. And maybe just like me, you needed to hear this one simple truth that Jennie offers us today in her book to help us combat the lies Satan has been attacking us with.


"I am not alone in the dark."


And even more so, I think we need to hear the words that Jesus is speaking to us right now in this very moment.


"I am the light, in me there is no darkness." (1 John 1:5)


The hardest battles are the ones that we fight in the dark. When we feel like we can't see the light at the end of the tunnel. When we don't know if we will ever find the hope, faith, and strength to keep going because the battle feels so long and we feel so weary. But we can take heart today in the truth that we do not have to fight in our own strength to reach for the light at the end of the tunnel.


Because the Light, is already here.


And the Light, has overcome the darkness.


"The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it." (John 1:5 ESV)





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page