top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureErica Hauke

Two Steps Back


"You have surrounded me on every side, behind me and before me, and you have placed your hand gently on my shoulder. It is the most amazing feeling to know how deeply you know me, inside and out; the realization of it is so great that I cannot comprehend it. Can I go anywhere apart from your Spirit? Is there anywhere I can go to escape your watchful presence?" (Psalm 139:5-7)


Two Steps Back


My heart is broken continually,

because I have loved much,

And although healing has begun,

My path toward it is still rough,

Even the road my soul journeys on is full of cracks,

I rush to take one step forward, and end up taking two steps back.


O' my soul, why do you despair?

Don't you know that the Lord of Heaven is with you everywhere?

The Comforter is with you, he goes ahead of you, to your sides, and to your back,

He has you covered so that your heart may have time to heal, and to protect you from enemy attack.


Where Jesus is,

There can be no fear,

For where he is,

so does joy, strength, and love appear.


And although it may feel like he is far away,

His presence is there, surrounding you and guiding you,

Always near,

So even though your heart has been shattered and ground to dust,

the Lord will mend you on those second steps back.


There is a secret about healing that shows up on that second step back,

One that most do not understand or the knowledge they lack,

Which is that true healing happens when you take the slow path.


With Jesus,

Not rushing past.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page